关于

我是第五代得克萨斯人,在弗吉尼亚大学学习政府和公共政策。我曾在疾病控制和预防中心 (CDC) 和退伍军人事务部 (VA) 担任改善政府系统和流程的战略顾问。我曾获得富布赖特奖学金计划的资助在巴西担任一年英语教师,之后回到德克萨斯州,进入微观移动行业担任运营经理。现在,我很幸运地就职于 Raise Your Hand Texas 机构,利用数据来推动我们州公共教育系统政策的积极变化。我也很自豪能与 Manos de Cristo 一起作为志愿者担任公民课助教,帮助来自世界各地的特拉维斯县移民完成复杂的入籍流程。

面对 2020 年,我与许多人一样,对世界的现状感到震惊和悲伤。虽然一直热衷于投票和选举,但我从那时开始进一步思考,投票是改变诸如气候变化、种族平等和医疗保健机会等许多重要问题的守第一步。我还进一步了解到我的家乡德克萨斯州的投票法规是全国最严格的,投票率则是最低的。这个民有、民治、民享的政府的主导和发展,仅由一小部分人掌控,太多人被剥夺了参与政治进程的权利。

为了实施行动,我成为特拉维斯县志愿副登记员和投票站工作人员。我们在农贸市场的摊位工作,在登记截止日的德克萨斯大学 Speedway 为学生登记,帮助 100 多名合格的新选民填写登记表并答疑解惑是令人振奋且很有意义的事。在选举日当天,我在投票站工作时遇到了一些不起的人,他们拥有公民意识,无私地为支持我们的民主投入了大量的时间和精力。令我感到痛苦和沮丧的是州政府为选民设置的诸多障碍:缺乏在线选民登记系统,难于实施的时间安排,没有足够的培训。然而,我意识到县级的问题也影响了整体的投票率:排长队等投票,投票站工作人员经费不足,缺乏面向新选民和信息不足选民的宣传。

我相信我在职业和志愿工作经历中获得的技能可以用来改善我们的选举管理。在过去的职业生涯中,我曾专注于通过分析关键数据来确定有力的解决方案,我希望将这些技能用于担任县书记官的实践中。

在您的支持下,我们可以增加投票选择,为投票站工作人员募集更多经费,并建立德州最佳县级选举应用程序特拉维斯县的公民参与和选民友好政策令我们感到自豪,我们有机会成为德克萨斯州选民准入率和投票率最高的地方。

如果有更多的人投票,民主就能获胜。参与我们的活动,在县书记官的选举中为 Kurt 投票!

About

A fifth generation Texan, I studied Government and Public Policy at the University of Virginia. I worked as a strategy consultant to improve government systems and processes at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). After a yearlong Fulbright Scholarship teaching English in Brazil, I returned to Texas to work as an operations manager in the micromobility industry. I now am fortunate enough to work at Raise Your Hand Texas, where I use data to help drive positive policy changes in our state’s public education system. I’m also proud to volunteer with Manos de Cristo as a Citizenship Class Teaching Assistant, helping immigrants to Travis County from all over the world navigate the complicated process to become naturalized citizens.

Like many others in 2020, I was shocked and saddened by the state of the world. Although I’ve always been interested in voting and elections, I began to think more about the ways that voting is the gatekeeper to change on so many important issues like climate change, racial equity and access to healthcare. I also learned more about how my home, Texas, has some of the most restrictive voting laws and lowest rates of turnout in the nation. This government of the people, by the people, and for the people is steered and shaped by just a fraction of the people, leaving too many disenfranchised from the political process.

To take action, I became a Travis County Volunteer Deputy Registrar and Poll Worker. From working a booth at a farmers’ market to registering students at the University of Texas Speedway on registration deadline day, it was exhilarating and meaningful to help over 100 new eligible voters fill out the registration form, answer questions, and clear up confusion. On Election Day, I worked the polls and met fantastic, selfless, civically-minded people putting in long hours to support our democracy. It was painful and frustrating to see the many barriers put in the way of voters by the state government: lack of online voter registration, difficult timelines, and insufficient education. However, I realized the problems at the county level—long lines, an underfunded poll worker program, and insufficient outreach to new and underserved voters—also hurt voter turnout across elections.

I’ve realized that the skills I’ve gained in my professional and volunteer experiences could be used to improve our elections process. My career has focused on analyzing key data to identify impactful solutions, and I want to put those skills to work by serving as County Clerk.

With your support, we can expand voting options, invest in our poll worker program, and build the best countywide elections app in Texas! We pride ourselves on civic engagement and voter-friendly policies in Travis County, and we have the opportunity to set the standard as the top place in Texas for voter access and turnout.

Democracy wins when more people vote. Join our campaign and vote Kurt for Clerk!