政策重点

我当选后将为特拉维斯县带来有利于选民的新想法。我希望帮助特拉维斯县在选民准入方面引领全州:实现德州最短投票排队时间和最高投票率。我们的目标是让每位合格选民不仅完成登记,而且在每一次选举中都完成投票。这些政策将促进本县的公平、高效和包容。

1.增加特拉维斯县的投票选择

不投票的人不投票的首要原因是什么?等待投票的队伍太长。两党共同组成的总统选举管理委员会认为,任何选民都不应为投票等待超过 30 分钟。在 2016 年、2018 年和 2020 年的选举中,在德克萨斯大学校园、Pflugerville和 Manor 等地的投票点所等待的时间甚至达到了 1 小时或更长。漫长的等待时间对于年轻人、有色人种和残疾人的影响尤为严重。

持续的排长队等投票现象表明一直未能提供足够的投票选择。随着本县人口持续增长,我将大幅增加特拉维斯县的投票点数量,尤其关注那些多次出现排长队和/或投票点不足的社区(德克萨斯大学校园、Pflugerville、Manor 等)。通过分析历史数据和预测今后选举的情况,我们可以改善投票地点、投票机和投票站工作人员的分配,以大幅减少排长队的机率。

最后,我将努力实施更多有利于选民的创新措施,如 24 小时投票、驾车投票、以及增加邮寄投票机会。虽然州级的举措未能推进甚至妨碍了这些有用和重要的政策,但我将力争为特拉维斯县选民实现这些选择。

2.将投票站工作人员的薪酬提高到 15 美元/小时

投票站工作人员是选举过程中必不可少的骨干人员。历史上,老年公民和退休人员承担了这些工作的绝大部分(特拉维斯县投票站工作人员的平均年龄为 72 岁)。然而,COVID-19 疫情突显出招募下一代民主守护者的紧迫性。此外,投票站工作人员的组成必须符合其所服务社区的人口结构。

培养选举工作人员的一个重要方法是吸纳年轻人加入。根据“学生选举文员”计划,16 岁及以上的高中学生可担任投票站工作人员,我将扩大该计划的规模和责任。我将参考哈里斯县的获奖计划,授权学生选举文员担任双语翻译、电子支持专长人员或路边投票蜂鸣器系统应答员,为残疾选民提供快速服务。

我将把投票站工作人员的最低工资提高到 15 美元/小时,以表明我们的社区对这些工作人员的重视。目前,特拉维斯县投票站工作人员的工资仅为 10 美元/小时。我们必须为在特拉维斯县从事选举工作的所有人提供更多支持、培训和辅导。

3.建立德克萨斯州最佳县级选举应用程序

74% 的千禧一代(出生于 1981 年至 1996 年)和 78% 的 Z 一代(出生于 1997 年至 2015 年)认为移动设备是最重要的上网设备。事实上,皮尤 (Pew) 研究中心在最近调查中发现,17% 的美国人“只使用智能手机”,其中包括 23% 的美国黑人和 25% 的西班牙裔美国人。鉴于此,特拉维斯县的桌面网站需要更易于访问并适配移动设备,以便所有选民都能轻松使用。

为了应对这些趋势,埃尔帕索和加尔维斯敦等其他县已开发了移动应用程序,允许选民查看关键信息,例如即将到来的选举日期、提前投票地点、选票样本等。

如果我当选,我将督促相关人员为所有选民开发一款应用程序,该程序将提供选举通知、地图应用程序集成以及创建日程预约的选项。这些实用功能将进一步帮助选民采取具体步骤,“制定投票计划”,进一步提高日后每次选举的参与度。鉴于奥斯汀作为国家技术中心的地位,我坚信特拉维斯县可以在德克萨斯州建立实用、设计良好和用户友好的县级选举应用程序。

4.加大对新选民和未得到足够信息的选民的宣传力度

Travis County has struggled with low turnout in many elections. Turnout was only 9.73% in the December 2020 runoff election, and only 22.57% for the May 2021 ballot referendums. There are a variety of reasons for consistent low turnout, but there is more the county could be doing to increase our outreach and encourage higher turnout.

我将推进更多的工作,在我们所有投票通知、表格、网站和其他与选举流程相关的材料中添加中文和越南语版本(已有英语和西班牙语基版本),让更多的社区参与投票(参考奥斯汀女性选民联盟投票指南以及哈里斯县选举事务处的指引)。这项举措至关重要,因为在特拉维斯县的居民中,不仅有 265,000 多人的母语是西班牙语,还有约 13,000 人的母语是中文,以及 10,000 人的母语是越南语。

第二,选民身份证法规、投票机和选举的其他方面令很多新选民感到陌生和担忧。如果我当选,我将努力扩大对新选民的宣传,包括为高中生、大学生和新入籍公民等群体举办定期讲座。

第三,社交媒体是联系许多新选民和信息不足的选民的重要途径。我们应当与拥有强大社交媒体的亲民社区组织合作,扩大我们的信息传播范围。通过提升特拉维斯县书记官的 Facebook、Instagram 和 Twitter 的关注者数量(是的,甚至通过 TikTok 帐号...#ClerkTok),我们要强调投票不仅是每四年应关注一次的事,而是持续终身的公民习惯。

5.县书记官办公室的流行病防范措施

除管理选举之外,特拉维斯县书记官办公室还负责管理本县大量文档资料,包括法院文件、婚姻记录,甚至畜牧业品牌文件。

在远程工作增多和工作生活需要灵活平衡的时代,我将尽力推进文所有的文档数字化和必要的远程办公。通过这种方式,特拉维斯县书记官办公室能够有效防范流行病,为纳税人节省办公成本,并适应工作方式的改变。

6.创建特拉维斯县书记官社区咨询委员会

特拉维斯县任命了诸多理事会和委员会,如动物咨询委员会、奥斯汀-特拉维斯县紧急医疗服务咨询委员会和特拉维斯县住房管理局。

如果我当选,我将提议设立特拉维斯县书记官社区咨询委员会,为持续改进的领域提供监督、问责和建议。这个由社区、非营利组织和商业领导者组成的多元化、居民主导的团体将一起合作,为特拉维斯县的所有居民提供选举管理和记录管理相关问题的反馈和意见。

7.评估向特拉维斯县选举管理办公室过渡的情况

特拉维斯县是德克萨斯州人口最多的 10 个县中唯一一个仍在使用投票责任分担制的县,由特拉维斯县税务评估员(征收员)人负责选民登记,特拉维斯县书记官负责选举管理。我们目前的分担制选民登记/选举制度既过时又低效,其根源是《吉姆·克劳法》和人头税的歧视性做法。就在 1966 年,税务评估员(征收员)在登记选民前还必须确定是否缴纳了人头税。

在我上任第一天,我将启动一个项目以分析过渡到“县选举管理系统”的影响。该项目最终将得出一份报告,阐述将目前由县书记官和税务评估员(征收员)分担的选举职责集中到一个办公室的可行性、时间表和需考虑的因素:特拉维斯县选举事务处,由一名被任命的无党派的县选举管理人员管理。该报告将在 2023 年 7 月 1 日前提交给特拉维斯县专员法院审查。

Policy Priorities

I’m running to bring new, pro-voter ideas here to Travis County. I want to help Travis County lead the state in voter access— with the shortest lines and the highest turnout in Texas. Our goal is for every eligible voter to be not only registered, but consistently voting in every single election. These policies will help make our county more equitable, efficient, and inclusive.

1. Expand Voting Options in Travis County

What’s the number one reason non-voters give for not voting? Long lines. A bipartisan Presidential Commission on Election Administration concluded that no voter should have to wait more than 30 minutes to vote. Polling locations in areas such as the University of Texas campus, Pflugerville, and Manor have consistently had wait times of 1 hour or more in the 2016, 2018, and 2020 elections. Young people, people of color, and people with disabilities are disproportionately impacted by long wait times.

Consistent long lines indicate a consistent undersupply of voting options. As the population of our county continues to grow, I will significantly expand the number of voting locations in Travis County, focusing in particular on those communities that have repeatedly experienced long lines and/or lack of polling locations (University of Texas campus, Pflugerville, Manor, and others). Through analysis of historical data and projections for future elections, we can improve allocation of polling locations, polling machines, and poll workers to substantially reduce the incidence of long lines.

Finally, I will strive to implement additional pro-voter innovations such as 24-hour voting, drive through voting, and increased access to voting by mail. While efforts at the state level continue to attempt to block these useful and important policies, I will fight to make these options a reality for voters in Travis County.

2. Raise the Poll Worker Wage to $15 / Hour

Poll workers are essential workers and the backbone of our electoral process. Historically, senior citizens and retirees have taken on the lion’s share of this responsibility (the average age of a poll worker in Travis County is 72). However, the COVID-19 pandemic revealed the urgency of recruiting the next generation of guardians of our democracy. Additionally, it’s important that poll workers reflect the demographics of the communities they serve.

One important way to build the pipeline of election workers is through investing in young people. I will expand the size and responsibilities of the Student Election Clerk program, in which high school students who are 16 years of age or older can serve as poll workers. I will use the award-winning Harris County program as a model, empowering Student Election Clerks to serve as bilingual translators, Electronics Support Specialists, or Curbside Voting buzzer system respondents to provide speedy service to voters with disabilities.

I will show how our community values poll workers by raising the minimum election worker wage to $15/hour. Currently, Travis County poll workers only make $10/hour. We must expand the investment, training, and mentorship opportunities for everyone working in elections in Travis County.

3. Build the Best Countywide Elections App in Texas

74% of Millennials (born between 1981 to 1996) and 78% of Gen Z (born between 1997 to 2015) consider their mobile devices their most important device to go online. In fact, a recent Pew survey found that 17% of all Americans are “smartphone-only” users, including 23% of Black Americans and 25% of Hispanic Americans. Given this information, Travis County’s desktop-based website needs to be made more accessible and mobile-friendly to include all voters.

To address these trends, other counties such as El Paso and Galveston have built mobile apps, allowing voters to access key information such as dates for upcoming elections, early voting locations, sample ballots, and more.

If elected, I will oversee the development of an app for all voters that would provide election notifications, integration to map applications, and options to create calendar appointments. These tangible features would further assist voters in taking specific steps to “make a plan to vote,” further increasing participation in every future election. Given Austin’s status as a national tech hub, I have no doubt that Travis County could build the most helpful, well-designed, and user-friendly countywide elections app in Texas.

4. Increase Outreach to New and Underserved Voters

Travis County has struggled with low turnout in many elections. Turnout was only 9.73% in the December 2020 runoff election, and only 22.57% for the May 2021 ballot referendums. There are a variety of reasons for consistent low turnout, but there is more the county could be doing to increase our outreach and encourage higher turnout.

I will increase our efforts to include more communities in voting by adding Chinese and Vietnamese (in addition to English and Spanish) to all of our voting notices, forms, websites, and other materials relating to the electoral process (following the lead of the League of Women Voters Austin Voting Guide as well as Harris County Elections). This is essential, because in addition to the over 265,000 native Spanish speakers in Travis County, we are also home to approximately 13,000 native Chinese speakers and 10,000 native Vietnamese speakers.

Second, voter ID laws, voting machines, and other aspects of elections may be unfamiliar and intimidating to many new voters. If elected, I will work to expand our outreach to new voters, including by hosting regular presentations for groups such as high schoolers, college students, and newly naturalized citizens.

Third, social media is an essential way to connect with many new and underserved voters. We should collaborate with affinity-based community organizations that already have strong social media presences in order to amplify our message. By expanding the Travis County Clerk’s Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter followings (and yes, even by starting a TikTok...#ClerkTok), we can make sure voting is not just something we care about once every four years, but a lifelong civic habit.

5. Pandemic-Proof the Clerk’s Office

In addition to administering elections, the Travis County Clerk’s office is responsible for managing an enormous amount of data for the county, including court documents, marriage records, and even livestock brands.

In an age of increasing remote work and flexible work-life balance, I will strive to continue digitizing all documents and allowing telecommuting wherever possible. In this way, the Travis County Clerk’s office will become pandemic-proof, save taxpayer money on office costs, and adapt to the changing nature of our work norms.

6. Create a Travis County Clerk’s Community Advisory Board

Travis County makes appointments to numerous boards and commissions such as the Animal Advisory Commission, Austin-Travis County Emergency Medical Services Advisory Board, and the Housing Authority of Travis County.

If elected, I will propose the creation of a Travis County Clerk's Community Advisory Board to provide oversight, accountability, and recommendations for areas of continuous improvement. This diverse, resident-led group of community, nonprofit, and business leaders would collaborate to offer feedback and a voice for all residents of Travis County on issues related to elections administration and records management.

7. Evaluate a Transition to a Travis County Office of Elections Administration

Travis County is the only one of the largest 10 counties in Texas by population which still uses a split system for voting responsibilities—the Travis County Tax Assessor-Collector runs voter registration, and the Travis County Clerk administers elections. Our current divided voter registration/elections system is outdated, inefficient, and rooted in the discriminatory practices of Jim Crow and the poll tax. As recently as 1966, the tax assessor-collector had to determine whether or not this tax was paid before you could register to vote.

On my first day in office, I will initiate a project to analyze the impact of transitioning to a County Elections Administrator system. This project will culminate in a report outlining the feasibility, timeline, and considerations involved in bringing together the election duties currently split between the county clerk and tax assessor-collector into a single office: Travis County Elections, run by an appointed, nonpartisan county elections administrator. The report will be submitted to the Travis County Commissioners Court for review by no later than July 1, 2023.